I ❤ Ann Paterson

I so admire the work of Midlands textile artist Ann Paterson, that it was a total privilege and delight to spend a morning with her, as part of MBAG, looking at the use of transfer paints in book art.  Here is my humble product. Emulsion on calico, transfer paint, Stazon stencilled lettering, stitch and beading.Ann Patterson workshop collage

The rolled book is entitled Good Riddance, after the song by Green Day’s Billie-Joe Armstrong, and includes a part of the chorus lyrics.

Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road, time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go…..

I love the song – my son introduced it to me and when Glen Campbell, whose music I adore, made a country version, my daughter and I danced to it whenever we heard it and Boo, my darling dog, would dance too.

The words mean a lot and go on to say

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right, I hope you had the time of your life

Well, I hope you did today, and I hope you will tomorrow.  Like the moth in the print, your life and mine will go quickly so make it matter, and like the tree we will have our seasons of growth and our seasons of rest to which we must attune – not wholly unpredictable, but always right.

About George

A friendly Sociophobe
This entry was posted in Book Art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I ❤ Ann Paterson

It is lovely to hear your thoughts

