City and Guilds

Busy busy busy.

I am setting up a Level 2 City and Guilds programme for my employers – The Quilt Association, so to keep myself up to date I am also taking a Level 3 Cert.  Loving it, but my home is suffering!  Never much used to getting scrubbed and gleaming, it is, nevertheless, groaning at me as I spill dyes  all over the place.  Glue and I do NOT get on….. I am a butterfly worker and flit from aspect to aspect until there in not one inch of space on the work table.  Then I regroup!  Here are a few pics from my portfolio for Module 1 of the compulsory design units – Line.

Line Page 9

Line Page 15

Patchwork samples do not have to strictly adhere to the module theme, but I love a theme!

Sample Hand Four patch

During the snow I did some snow dyeing, just for fun!  My first attempt was very bland.  What worked for me, when I tried again, was to pack the snow down quite hard onto the scrunched up, soda ashed, cotton (an old sheet!) and pour liquid Procion MX onto the snow.  More of the crystalline ‘splitty’ effect achieved.   Hurrah!

snow dyeing

snow dyeing 2

snow dyeing 3

I haven’t seen it myself yet, but I am reliably informed that my Woman on a Turtle quilt is pictured in March’s edition of Popular Patchwork magazine.  She won runner up in the Large Wallhanging section, and first in the Surface Embellishment group at The West Country Quilt Show!  Chuffed!

About George

A friendly Sociophobe
This entry was posted in City and Guilds Patchwork and Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to City and Guilds

  1. knitmanyarn says:

    CONGRATULATIONS on the publication! And I love the snow dyes. amazing.

    Like

It is lovely to hear your thoughts

