WIP (s)

I don’t know how it’s happened – my rule of grown-up-edness has been broken and instead of finishing one thing (in each craft – I am not THAT disciplined) before starting another I have four items on the needles.  here is the evidence for the defence

Exhibit A

Laminaria

I have wanted to make this for an age and for an also age I have had one skein of Posh Yarn  Sophia 2ply (unintentionally almost the exact colour of the Knitty version) – which I knew wasn’t enough.  After finishing Dido in yarn from my delightful Ravelry Posh Halloween Swap, I had some Knitbox Indulge left over so I hoped I had enough yarn in combination.  I didn’t. So now I am waiting for more Indulge – I would have loved to finish in Sophia but I can’t even remember the name, even if Posh Yarn did do repeat colours – which they don’t………

So I started

Exhibit B

A very colourful fairisle – an old Patricia Roberts pattern called Balmoral.  A friend once gave me dozens of balls of discontinued King Cole Anti-tickle 4 ply in the brightest of brights.  I have decided to knit up children’s clothes  –  to gift as and when. The turquoise, green and light teal are really hard to tell apart in electric light so I needed something to knit easily at night…..so

Exhibit C

I love and interesting method and I also love pattern browsing on Ravelry so I started the Ten Stitch Blanket ( a rav download) in the hope of stash busting with all those odd leftover bits.

But,  of course, what I really want to be knitting is a lacework shawl and I just happened to have another skein of Posh Sophia – in another forgotten colour – so……..

Exhibit D

Aeolian shawlette

Lacework with beads – it doesn’t get any better than that.

On another topic – when is Twelfth Night? All my life I have taken the decs down on January 6th, I noticed several bloggers de-decking earlier.  And now I find that – according to Wikipedia – some take the mediaeval view (reinforced by Christmas Eve), that Twelfth night is the night before Twelfth Day. Yikes????

About George

A friendly Sociophobe
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WIP (s)

  1. George says:

    Jonathan – I have a pattern book that I found in a second hand bookshop in Llandudno – all I can suggest is ‘keep your eyes peeled’!

    Like

  2. Jonathan says:

    My mum knitted me the balmoral as a tank top thirty years ago. I want another. Where can I find the pattern?

    Like

  3. Hazel says:

    Well, it’s very easy to get a lot of WIPs with projects like that. I love the Laminaria pattern. It has been on my list for some time to make and I’ve made the Aeolian which is another gorgeous design. I like the look of your fair isle, too. Happy New Year! x

    Like

  4. knitmanyarn says:

    As long as you have enjoyment, so what?

    Like

It is lovely to hear your thoughts

