Nia’s Quilt

For Nia – Moda Urban Chiks ‘Sweet’ – one Jelly Roll, one Charm Pack, and a few metres of white backing fabric.



After the trials of the silk quilt, I am keeping to the KISS principle and trying to work with fabric rather than waging war. I allowed myself to enjoy this one. I still find machine quilting very arduous and nerve wracking, so I kept that simple too. I enjoy hand quilting so I might do more of that, although for the sampler quilt that is well underway, I am exploring quilt as you go as I would love to perfect feathers and Mickey Mouse ears!



I am newly in love with home-made binding, having previously used the backing fabric fold over method. Thanks to Auntie Em for her inspiration on that! I was using up Jelly roll strips in the main, so the binding is not cut on the cross, but it worked okay.



The label is simple, and sweet too, I hope – I love my Bubble Jet Set 2000 and A4 freezer paper! And YES!!!!! I am ahead rather than three years behind on my 21st birthday quilting!

 

About George

A friendly Sociophobe
This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nia’s Quilt

  1. angie Cox says:

    Beautiful quilt ,it’s far more relaxing doing these things by hand.

    Like

  2. Gill says:

    lovely….gorgeous quilt. I agree with the quilting observations too. No need to fight with the sewing machine when a little light quilting works beautifully.

    Binding looks good too.

    Like

It is lovely to hear your thoughts

