Happy New Year

Happy New Year dear readers.  I have a feeling that 2014 is going to be a rather nice year. My resolution is to do instead of thinking about doing, in all realms of my life.

I had a busy end to 2013, making two cot quilts.  I love art quilts and I love bed quilts.  I make both – aren’t I lucky to be able to indulge myself!

Space boy’s quilt – Hand dyed base fabric – I flicked soy wax over the PFD white fabric randomly to create galaxies, then low-immersion dyed the fabric first in Cerulean Blue, then again in Electric Blue (Procion from Kemtex).  Some say you can’t use soy wax to immersion dye.  You can…… The Sun was also a hand-dye – Acid Yellow – and I cut it as a random New York Beauty block – you will see I had plenty of practise with the quilt I will show next, but made first.  The planets were printed onto white PFD cotton using a Gelli-Plate and Golden Open Acrylics mixed with fabric medium.  I free-motion quilted around each planet, and the commercial fabric stars, using metallic threads in the bobbin, and Madeira Cotona  on top. The rings of Saturn and the clouds of Earth are gold-flecked Lutradur.  I didn’t have a lot of time to plan or make this one and I am really pleased with the result! Front 2 Night skyThe Earth girl’s quilt is a celebration of the New York Beauty block, made from Oakshott cottons and hand-dyed cottons in pastel shades, strengthened and oomphed up with a few touches of deep purple.  Some of the fabrics have also been printed using thermofax screens to add interest and detail.  The NYB block demands a lot of foundation piecing and also curved piecing, but is great fun and I like the ‘busy’ outcome.  The centre is quilted to emphasise the star shapes, without following the piecing lines slavishly.  The borders are meander quilted, each square separately in its own colour,  because I love meander. Back 2Front

About George

A friendly Sociophobe
This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year

  1. knitmanyarn says:

    Gosh! What beautiful work, I love both.

It is lovely to hear your thoughts

